Savage
Well, this is going to be short & ranty. I sometimes listen to Michael Savage. Lately, I've noticed how often he rants on the subject of salvation. Specifically, he rants that there can't possibly be one path to salvation, and that people who think there is are one of, if not the, main sources of trouble in the world.
This pisses me off.
He says he is a good person; he believes in God. He is therefore going to heaven. But why should we think that Christianity is the only way to heaven? Why can't we just keep our religious beliefs to ourself? Don't we see what haaaaaarm we're doing? How dare Christians say that everyone else's religion isn't just as good as theirs? Why do we have to say that our way is right? Don't we realize how much better the world would be if we just shut up and went away?
Bah. Humbug. BULLSHIT.
[Sorry. If you'd like, I can share with you my rant on the difference between cursing, blasphemy, and plain old vulgar language. It's a fun rant, but I'm in a hurry.]
There is such a thing as absolute truth.
All religions cannot be true; they are contradictory. Someone who truly and completely believes the tenets of their religion cannot also believe others are true at the same time--not even if the basis of their religion is that all religions are true, because all those other religions are exclusive. How can you believe in both Christianity and Islam--believe that both are true ways to God? In order to believe in both, you have to dismiss such large portions of both that you aren't really believing in either.
I'm sick of pussy-footing around. All religions are not true. All religions are not a path to the same place. They are not different revelations of the same thing. And I'm not going to sit back and be told that I must think that they are--and that if I refuse to think that, I am evil.
One world non-religion religion... hrm, such a familiar goal. *church lady*
I know, Michael. You don't like the thought of so many people being lost. (Read Romans 2:12-16; it'll help a bit.) I don't like it either. But just because you don't like the truth, that doesn't make it stop being true.
Yeeech. Is it any wonder that "politically correct" is just about the dirtiest phrase in my vocabulary? I'm sick of it. I'm done with it. There's a time when you shouldn't offend, but for goodness' sake, there's a time when you should.